A Beautiful Agony

“Don’t forget, a great impression of simplicity can only be achieved by great agony of body and spirit.” – Boris Lermontov (The Red Shoes, 1948)

The Red Shoes has always been one of my favorite ballets, and a favorite movie as well.  The story by Hans Christian Andersen is just heartbreakingly beautiful, and I have been fascinated with each form and interpretation of it since I was a child.

Yesterday, I decided to experiment with self-portraits, and took some loosely based inspiration from The Red Shoes.

What I learned:  Getting into character is fairly impossible without a remote shutter release…definitely my next purchase.

It was a fun experiment.  I plan on revisiting this idea sometime in the future.  For now, here are the photographs, featuring yours truly!

2 thoughts on “A Beautiful Agony

Leave a Reply

