Collections: Cameras

I love to collect things.  China, glassware, silver, chairs (don’t ask…my husband says I have a problem…it’s not a problem…it’s a very “comfortable condition”), and cameras.

This week, my small camera collection grew by 3 Polaroids, all found at one of my favorite thrift stores, Lilypads (whose proceeds, btw, benefit the Illinois Valley PADS homeless shelter…awesome place).

One of these days, I do believe I’ll set up a proper photo shoot for the darlings.

It’s an odd little collection, but well-loved.  So far, it consists of a DI-4353 (second from left); a Brownie Starflash, by Kodak (second from right); an Olympia Big Royal View, which is hysterical, (not shown in the photo above)  it’s an Olympus rip-off…the kind you would imagine someone hawking on the street as a big name slr for a fraction of the cost – fortunately, I bought it for next to nothing, because that’s about what it’s worth lol; a GORGEOUS Anscoflex II (top center), which happens to be one of my favorite cameras based on style alone, though I love shooting through the lens as well; and my new additions, a Polaroid Spectra 2 (bottom center), a Polaroid 104 Land Camera (far right), and a Polaroid 230 Land Camera (far left).

In addition to a quick view of my collection, I thought I would share a couple images of my favorite Polaroid (style-wise) – the 230 – that I made while experimenting with an off-camera video light the other night.  I’m absolutely thrilled with the outcome, and I hope you enjoy it as well!

I adore looking at others’ collections, so I hope you enjoyed seeing a bit of mine. Do you have an odd or ordinary collection?  I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

